- British & Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013 - http://www.lions-tour.com -

Sam Warburton to make his debut as Captain

Posted By Ben On June 6, 2013 @ 11:08 am In Latest News | No Comments

British & Irish Lions tour captain Sam Warburton has been passed fit to play and makes his debut against the Queensland Reds in Brisbane on Saturday.

Tour captain Warburton had been sidelined from the first two tour fixtures due to a knee injury but the doctors have given him the all clear to start the match at openside flanker.

Fellow Welshman Gethin Jenkins has also passed a fitness test and starts at prop for the first time on the tour.

There are also first starting opportunities for lock Geoiff Parling, Matt Stevens and Ben Youngs.  There are starts for two players who started the game against the Western Force on Wednesday in Tommy Bowe and Manu Tuilagi.

The Queensland Reds named their side to face the Lions yesterday and named a strong side including twelve Wallabies.  There were no places for star Wallabies Will Genia, Liam Gill or Digby Ioane though who are rested.

British & Irish Lions team to face Queensland Reds:

15: Stuart Hogg [1]
14: Alex Cuthbert [2]
13: Manu Tuilagi [3]
12: Jonathan Davies [4]
11: Tommy Bowe [5]
10: Owen Farrell [6]
9: Ben Youngs [7]
8: Toby Faletau [8]
7: Sam Warburton [9] (c)
6: Dan Lydiate [10]
5: Geoff Parling [11]
4: Richie Grey [12]
3: Matt Stevens [13]
2: Tom Youngs [14]
1: Gethin Jenkins [15]

Replacements

16: Richard Hibbard [16]
17: Mako Vunipola [17]
18: Adam Jones [18]
19: Paul O’Connell [19]
20: Justin Tipuric [20]
21: Conor Murray [21]
22: Jonathan Sexton [22]
23: George North [23]


Article printed from British & Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013: http://www.lions-tour.com

URL to article: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/2013/06/06/sam-warburton-to-make-his-debut-as-captain/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stuart Hogg: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/stuart-hogg/

[2] Alex Cuthbert: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/alex-cuthbert/

[3] Manu Tuilagi: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/manu-tuilagi/

[4] Jonathan Davies: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/jonathan-davies/

[5] Tommy Bowe: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/tommy-bowe/

[6] Owen Farrell: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/owen-farrell/

[7] Ben Youngs: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/ben-youngs/

[8] Toby Faletau: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/toby-faletau/

[9] Sam Warburton: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/sam-warburton/

[10] Dan Lydiate: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/dan-lydiate/

[11] Geoff Parling: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/geoff-parling/

[12] Richie Grey: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/richie-gray/

[13] Matt Stevens: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/matt-stevens/

[14] Tom Youngs: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/tom-youngs/

[15] Gethin Jenkins: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/gethin-jenkins/

[16] Richard Hibbard: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/richard-hibbard/

[17] Mako Vunipola: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/mako-vunipola/

[18] Adam Jones: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/adam-jones/

[19] Paul O’Connell: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/paul-oconnell-capt/

[20] Justin Tipuric: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/justin-tipuric/

[21] Conor Murray: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/conor-murray/

[22] Jonathan Sexton: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/jonathan-sexton/

[23] George North: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/george-north/

Copyright © 2012 Lions Tour. All rights reserved.