- British & Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013 - http://www.lions-tour.com -

Hogg Starts At Fly Half vs QLD-NSW Country

Posted By Ben On June 9, 2013 @ 1:00 pm In Latest News | No Comments

British & Irish Lions full back Stuart Hogg has been named to start the match at fly half against a combined NSW-QLD Country XV on Tuesday.

The move represents quite a gamble from Lions Head Coach Warren Gatland because Hogg hasn’t played at fly half since he was at school.

The move illustrates the lack of fly half cover in the squad following the injuries to Manu Tuilagi and Tommy Bowe in yesterdays match against the Queensland Reds.  During the game, winger Tommy Bowe originally moved to centre to cover the departure of Tuilagi, but then Bowe himself got injured which forced the Lions to bring on Jonathan Sexton to play at fly half, whilst moving Owen Farrell to the centres.  Hogg and Farrell both played 90 minutes of the game with Sexton on for a large period too, leaving no rested option for the fly half berth on Tuesday.  Indeed, with Farrell and Sexton both rested, there is no fly half cover on the bench.

Elsewhere, injury call up Alex Corbisiero starts his first match of the tour, and Scotland prop Ryan Grant takes his place in the bench despite both having only just arrived in Australia.

More positive news for the Lions is that the hugely successful 2009 centre partnership of Brian O’Driscoll and Jamie Roberts is reunited.  O’Driscoll also captains the side.

Sean Maitland starts out of position at full back which indicates that Leigh Halfpenny is being kept fresh for the match on Saturday against the NSW Waratahs, a match that will give a huge indication as to the likely test side the following weekend.

British & Irish Lions team to face Western Force:

15: Sean Maitland [1]
14: Alex Cuthbert [2]
13: Brian O’Driscoll [3] (c)
12: Jamie Roberts [4]
11: George North [5]
10: Stuart Hogg [6]
9: Conor Murray [7]
8: Jamie Heaslip [8]
7: Justin Tipuric [9]
6: Sean O’Brien [10]
5: Ian Evans  [11]
4: Richie Grey [12]
3: Dan Cole [13]
2: Richard Hibbard [14]
1: Alex Corbisiero [15]

Replacements

16: Rory Best [16]
17: Ryan Grant [17]
18: Matt Stevens [18]
19: Alun Wyn Jones [19]
20: Toby Faletau [20]
21: Mike Phillips [21]
22: Jonathan Davies [22]
23: Leigh Halfpenny [23]

 


Article printed from British & Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013: http://www.lions-tour.com

URL to article: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/2013/06/09/hogg-starts-at-fly-half-vs-qld-nsw-country/

URLs in this post:

[1] Sean Maitland: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/sean-maitland/

[2] Alex Cuthbert: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/alex-cuthbert/

[3] Brian O’Driscoll: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/brian-odriscoll/

[4] Jamie Roberts: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/jamie-roberts/

[5] George North: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/george-north/

[6] Stuart Hogg: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/stuart-hogg/

[7] Conor Murray: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/conor-murray/

[8] Jamie Heaslip: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/jamie-heaslip/

[9] Justin Tipuric: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/justin-tipuric/

[10] Sean O’Brien: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/sean-obrien/

[11] Ian Evans : http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/ian-evans/

[12] Richie Grey: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/richie-gray/

[13] Dan Cole: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/dan-cole/

[14] Richard Hibbard: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/richard-hibbard/

[15] Alex Corbisiero: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/1752/

[16] Rory Best: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/rory-best/

[17] Ryan Grant: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/ryan-grant/

[18] Matt Stevens: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/matt-stevens/

[19] Alun Wyn Jones: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/alun-wyn-jones/

[20] Toby Faletau: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/toby-faletau/

[21] Mike Phillips: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/mike-phillips/

[22] Jonathan Davies: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/jonathan-davies/

[23] Leigh Halfpenny: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/leigh-halfpenn/

Copyright © 2012 Lions Tour. All rights reserved.