- British & Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013 - http://www.lions-tour.com -

Zebo Straight Into Team to Face NSW Waratahs

Posted By Ben On June 13, 2013 @ 8:19 am In Latest News | No Comments

Ireland winger Simon Zebo has been named in a strong looking British & Irish Lions line up to face the NSW Waratahs in Sydney on Saturday.

Zebo has only been with the Lions for a few days but gets his chance to impress in the match one week out from the test series against the Wallabies.

The side features a number of players inked in to face the Wallabies including both likely test props in Adam Jones and Mako Vunipola. Tom youngsters gets a chance to impress between then at hooker.

The lock partnership of Paul O’Connell and Alun Wyn Jones looks a likely test combination.

The back row trio of captain Sam Warburton, Tom Croft and Jamie head lip would be many pundits top picks for the test side so all in all it’s a formidable looking pack.

In the back live there are far more injury concerns and so there are opportunities for more fringe players like Zebo to impress.

Likely test half back combination Mike Phillips and Jonathan Sexton are started but outside of then the picture is less clear.

Brian O’Driscoll is reated and Manu tail ago is still not fully recovered fro injury so the Welsh partnership Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davie is called on with Zebo and Sean Maitland on the wings and Leigh Halfpenny at full back.

Head coach Warren Gatland said “We have got a full complement of forwards but the backs have tended to take most of the punishment, probably because of the way we have played.”

“We have moved the ball a lot, played a heck of a lot of rugby and some of the metres the backs have covered and the work they have put in has taken its toll a little bit.”

The British & Irish Lions team to face NSW Waratahs:

15: Leigh Halfpenny [1]
14: Sean Maitland [2]
13: Jonathan Davies [3]
12: Jamie Roberts [4]
11: Simon Zebo [5]
10: Jonathan Sexton [6]
9: Mike Phillips [7]
8: Jamie Heaslip [8]
7: Sam Warburton [9] (c)
6: Tom Croft [10]
5: Paul O’Connell [11]
4: Alun Wyn Jones [12]
3: Adam Jones [13]
2: Tom Youngs [14]
1: Mako Vunipola [15]

Replacements

16: Richard Hibbard [16]
17: Alex Corbisiero [17]
18: Dan Cole [18]
19: Geoff Parling [19]
20: Dan Lydiate [20]
21: Ben Youngs
22: Owen Farrell
23: Rob Kearney [21]


Article printed from British & Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013: http://www.lions-tour.com

URL to article: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/2013/06/13/zebo-straight-into-team-to-face-nsw-waratahs/

URLs in this post:

[1] Leigh Halfpenny: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/leigh-halfpenny/

[2] Sean Maitland: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/sean-maitland/

[3] Jonathan Davies: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/jonathan-davies/

[4] Jamie Roberts: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/jamie-roberts/

[5] Simon Zebo: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/simon-zebo/

[6] Jonathan Sexton: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/jonathan-sexton/

[7] Mike Phillips: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/mike-phillips/

[8] Jamie Heaslip: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/jamie-heaslip/

[9] Sam Warburton: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/sam-warburton/

[10] Tom Croft: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/tom-croft/

[11] Paul O’Connell: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/paul-oconnell-capt/

[12] Alun Wyn Jones: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/alun-wyn-jones/

[13] Adam Jones: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/adam-jones/

[14] Tom Youngs: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/tom-youngs/

[15] Mako Vunipola: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/mako-vunipola/

[16] Richard Hibbard: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/richard-hibbard/

[17] Alex Corbisiero: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/1752/

[18] Dan Cole: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/dan-cole/

[19] Geoff Parling: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/geoff-parling/

[20] Dan Lydiate: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/dan-lydiate/

[21] Rob Kearney: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/rob-kearney/

Copyright © 2012 Lions Tour. All rights reserved.