- British & Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013 - http://www.lions-tour.com -

Parling Captains as Tuilagi Makes Comeback

Posted By Ben On June 23, 2013 @ 5:25 pm In Latest News | No Comments

Geoff Parling has been named as captain of the British & Irish Lions side to face Melbourne Rebels on Tuesday.  The side named also see’s the inclusion of centre Manu Tuilagi making his return from injury.

England Lock Parling is one of four players who played in the first test match on Saturday to line up again on Tuesday. Richard Hibbard, Dan Cole and Dan Lydiate all featured for the Lions off the bench, whilst Owen Farrell and Sean Maitland were in the 23, but did not make it off the bench.

Tuilagi starts alongside England partner Brad Barritt and will be looking to impress ahead of the second test on Saturday.

Ireland prop Tom Court has been called up as a precaution following the injury to Alex Corbisiero on Saturday and is immediately called into action on the bench.

The Melbourne Rebelas will be captained by Welsh flanker Gareth Delve, who’s good form with the Rebels prompted calls for his inclusion in the Lions squad, but he will have to make do with captaining the opposition against the Lions.

The British & Irish Lions team to face the Melbourne Rebels is:

15: Rob Kearney [1]
14: Sean Maitland [2]
13: Manu Tuilagi [3]
12: Brad Barritt [4]
11: Simon Zebo [5]
10: Owen Farrell [6]
9: Conor Murray [7]
8: Toby Faletau [8]
7: Sean O’Brien [9]
6: Dan Lydiate [10]
5: Geoff Parling [11] (c)
4: Richie Gray [12]
3: Dan Cole [13]
2: Richard Hibbard [14]
1: Ryan Grant [15]


16: Rory Best [16]
17: Tom Court
18: Matt Stevens [17]
19: Ian Evans [18]
20: Justin Tipuric [19]
21: Ben Youngs [20]
22: Billy Twelvetrees [21]
23: Stuart Hogg [22]


Article printed from British & Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013: http://www.lions-tour.com

URL to article: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/2013/06/23/parling-captains-as-tuilagi-makes-comeback/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rob Kearney: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/rob-kearney/

[2] Sean Maitland: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/sean-maitland/

[3] Manu Tuilagi: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/manu-tuilagi/

[4] Brad Barritt: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/brad-barritt/

[5] Simon Zebo: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/simon-zebo/

[6] Owen Farrell: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/owen-farrell/

[7] Conor Murray: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/conor-murray/

[8] Toby Faletau: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/toby-faletau/

[9] Sean O’Brien: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/sean-obrien/

[10] Dan Lydiate: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/dan-lydiate/

[11] Geoff Parling: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/geoff-parling/

[12] Richie Gray: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/richie-gray/

[13] Dan Cole: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/dan-cole/

[14] Richard Hibbard: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/richard-hibbard/

[15] Ryan Grant: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/ryan-grant/

[16] Rory Best: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/rory-best/

[17] Matt Stevens: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/matt-stevens/

[18] Ian Evans: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/ian-evans/

[19] Justin Tipuric: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/justin-tipuric/

[20] Ben Youngs: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/ben-youngs/

[21] Billy Twelvetrees: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/billy-twelvetrees/

[22] Stuart Hogg: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/stuart-hogg/

Copyright © 2012 Lions Tour. All rights reserved.