- British & Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013 - http://www.lions-tour.com -

Paul O’Connell Ruled Out Of Test Series

Posted By Ben On June 24, 2013 @ 9:43 am In Latest News | No Comments

British & Irish Lions lock Paul O’Connell has been ruled out of the rest of the tour after picking up an injury in the 21-23 win against Australia in Brisbane on Saturday.

O’Connell fractured his arm in a collision when Wycliff Palu dioved into a ruck and O’Connell’s arm was in the way.

England lock Geoff Parling has been withdrawn from the side to face Melbourne Rebels on Tuesday in a move that is likely to result in his inclusion in the team for the second test on Saturday.

Wales lock Ian Evans has replaced Parling in the side to face the Rebels, with Tom Croft named on the bench.  Dan Lydiate will take over the captaincy of the side.

The Lions are also monitoring the fitness of Alex Corbisiero who also damaged his calf in the win.

Ireland prop Tom Court was called up on Sunday and immediately takes his place on the bench for the match against the Melbourne Rebels on Tuesday.

The revised side to face Melbourne Rebels is:

15: Rob Kearney [1]
14: Sean Maitland [2]
13: Manu Tuilagi [3]
12: Brad Barritt [4]
11: Simon Zebo [5]
10: Owen Farrell [6]
9: Conor Murray [7]
8: Toby Faletau [8]
7: Sean O’Brien [9]
6: Dan Lydiate [10]  (c)
5: Ian Evans [11]
4: Richie Gray [12]
3: Dan Cole [13]
2: Richard Hibbard [14]
1: Ryan Grant [15]

Replacements

16: Rory Best [16]
17: Tom Court
18: Matt Stevens [17]
19: Tom Croft [18]
20: Justin Tipuric [19]
21: Ben Youngs [20]
22: Billy Twelvetrees [21]
23: Stuart Hogg [22]

 


Article printed from British & Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013: http://www.lions-tour.com

URL to article: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/2013/06/24/paul-oconnell-ruled-out-of-test-series/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rob Kearney: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/rob-kearney/

[2] Sean Maitland: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/sean-maitland/

[3] Manu Tuilagi: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/manu-tuilagi/

[4] Brad Barritt: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/brad-barritt/

[5] Simon Zebo: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/simon-zebo/

[6] Owen Farrell: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/owen-farrell/

[7] Conor Murray: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/conor-murray/

[8] Toby Faletau: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/toby-faletau/

[9] Sean O’Brien: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/sean-obrien/

[10] Dan Lydiate: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/dan-lydiate/

[11] Ian Evans: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/ian-evans/

[12] Richie Gray: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/richie-gray/

[13] Dan Cole: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/dan-cole/

[14] Richard Hibbard: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/richard-hibbard/

[15] Ryan Grant: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/ryan-grant/

[16] Rory Best: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/rory-best/

[17] Matt Stevens: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/matt-stevens/

[18] Tom Croft: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/tom-croft/

[19] Justin Tipuric: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/justin-tipuric/

[20] Ben Youngs: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/ben-youngs/

[21] Billy Twelvetrees: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/billy-twelvetrees/

[22] Stuart Hogg: http://www.lions-tour.com/index.php/the-lions/the-squad/stuart-hogg/

Copyright © 2012 Lions Tour. All rights reserved.