2017 Ashes official travel packages available now

2013 British & Irish Lions Squad Announced

British & Irish Lions Head Coach Warren Gatland has announced his squad for the 2013 Lions Tour to Australia this summer with Sam Warburton as captain.

There’s no place for Jonny Wilkinson, Ryan Jones, England captain Chris Robshaw or Ireland captain Rory Best, but there are places for ex-international prop Matt Stevens and rookie winger Sean Maitland.

Warburton becomes the 28th captain of the British & Irish Lions, but only the 4th Welsh captain of the Lions. Gatland said “In the last 12 months the composition of the touring party and the appointment of the captain has created much speculation and debate, and today it is great that we at last announce our captain and players to represent the very best of British & Irish rugby. Being selected as a Lion is a huge honour for a player and marks a major highlight in his career.

“I would particularly like to congratulate Sam who becomes one of the youngest ever Lions captains. We have an existing working relationship through the Wales team and Sam is an impressive individual and natural leader and I look forward to working with him in the coming weeks and on the Tour.”

On becoming Lions captain Warburton said “Being selected as a British & Irish Lions tourist is itself a huge honour and something that I, like all players, have dreamed about. To be asked to lead the Tour as captain to Australia is unbelievable and I am very, very honored to be asked.

“It is a proud honour for me, Cardiff Blues and Wales, and to follow in the steps of former Welsh Lions’ captains such as John Dawes and Phil Bennett is amazing. As the latest custodian I will endeavor to do the very best job I can.

“The Tour to Hong Kong and Australia will be a huge challenge against one of the top three teams in the world. However, I am confident that we have the ambition, talent and attitude to mount a serious challenge against the Wallabies on their home soil and return victorious.”
The squad reads as follows:

Tommy Bowe
Dan Cole
Tom Croft
Alex Cuthbert
Jonathan Davies
Ian Evans
Toby Faletau
Owen Farrell
Ritchie Gray
Leigh Halfpenny
Dylan Hartley
Cian Healy
Jamie Heaslip
Richard Hibbard
Stuart Hogg
Gethin Jenkins
Adam Jones
Alun Wyn Jones
Rob Kearney
Dan Lydiate
Sean Maitland
Conor Murray
George North
Sean O’Brien
Paul O’Connell
Brian O’Driscoll
Geoff Parling
Mike Phillips
Jamie Roberts
Jonny Sexton
Matt Stevens
Justin Tipuric
Manu Tuilagi
Mako Vunipola
Sam Warburton (c)
Ben Youngs
Tom Youngs

Check out our full list of squad profiles on our squad page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.